English / Deutsch | Print version  -   15/Nov/2014: plopKexec update will be released soon
11/Nov/2014: Plop Linux for Raspberry PI will be released soon
06/Nov/2014: A bugfixed hfsprescue will be released in the next few days


Prev
Linux Boot Managers to the boot sector
Go to the Table of Contents Next
NOD32 Virus report

Plop Boot Manager 5.0 - Examples


1. Video dual boot install Windows XP and Windows XP
2. Windows XP and Windows Vista dual boot with hidden (cleared) partitions
3. Dualboot Windows XP and Windows 7

1. Video dual boot install Windows XP and Windows XP


Download demoinstall.wmv (demoinstall.zip). The quality is not the best but you see all required steps. I hope it's useful.


2. Windows XP and Windows Vista dual boot with hidden (cleared) partitions


The goal is to install Windows XP on the first partition and Windows Vista on the second partition. I want that no windows has access to the partition of the other Windows. There should be a third partition that will be used as shared partition. Both Windows have access to this partition.

There are many ways to do this. I will describe one way.

It works only with the MBR installation!

What should be the result

  • Windows XP on partition 1
  • Windows Vista on partition 2
  • A shared partition for both Windows as partition 3
  • No Windows has access to the other Windows partition
  • Realized with the Plop Boot Manager (hard disk installation)

Basic conditions

  • The hard disk is not partitioned
  • No boot manager is installed

The description

Install Windows XP

At first install Windows XP. Create with the Windows installer a partition with the size you want. I use a 10GB partition. Install Windows XP on this partition.

Setup Partitions

When you installed your Windows, go to the Disk Management and create a second primary partition for Vista and a third primary partition for the shared data.

Install the boot manager

Now comes the boot manager part. Boot from the boot manager install floppy or CD. Install the boot manager to the hard disk and then reboot.

Configure the Windows XP profile

The boot manager created a profile called "os harddisk 1" to boot Windows XP. It also imported the 3 primary partitions. The names are HDA1, HDA2 and HDA3.

Now go to setup and profiles. Select os harddisk 1. Give it the new label windows xp.

Select linked partitions. Press enter at the first slot of HDA and select HDA1. At the second slot press c to set it to cleared. You can leave the third slot as don't touch or select HDA3. See the difference at configure partition entries.

Configure the Windows Vista profile

Now leave the configuration of Windows XP and go to an empty profile in Profiles. Give it the label windows vista. Set show in main menu to yes. Now select linked partitions. Press at the first slot c to set it to cleared. At the second slot press b to set the boot flag. Press enter and select HDA2. On the third slot choose the same as for windows xp (don't touch or HDA3).

Install Window Vista

Go back to the main menu. Now you see windows xp and windows vista. Move to windows vista and press Enter. This writes the profile settings to the hard disk. The booting will fail, because Vista is not installed. Now boot the Windows Vista install DVD. In the installer you should see at the partitions screen at first an unallocated space (there is xp installed) and 2 primary partitions. Select the first primary partition to install Windows Vista. when the Windows Vista installation has been finished, it's possible, that Vista is booting immediately and the Plop Boot Manager does not come. In this case use Rewrite loader from the Plop Boot Manager install floppy or CD.

Now you should have two bootable Windows on your hard disk and they don't know from each other. You can share data between both with the shared partition.

Windows Vista on the second hard disk

It's similar to the previous description, if you want to install Windows XP on the first hard disk and Windows Vista on the second hard disk. The second hard disk is HDB in the boot manager. So install Windows Vista to the first partition of the second hard disk. Set in the vista profile/linked partitions the first slot of HDB to HDB1 and press b. The boot manager will set the boot flag to 81h. This should be ok for your installation.


3. Dualboot Windows XP and Windows 7


Here are short instructions for a complete new installation of your pc with dualbooting WinXP and Win7. It doesn't matter if you use 32 or 64 bit versions. Take care, all data on your pc will be deleted!

Boot the Win7 install DVD. Remove all partitions from the hard disk. Create a partition for Win7. The install program will create 2 partitions. One with about 80MB for the Win7 boot files and a second partition with the Win7 files. Create an additional partition for WinXP. Now you see 3 partitions. Install Win7 to the second partition. After the Win7 installation is complete, install the Plop Boot Manager. After the Boot Manager installation go to the Boot Manager Setup, then Profiles, then "OS HARDDISK 1". Change the name to "Win7". Go to linked partitions and press enter on the first position of HDA and select HDA1, on the second select HDA2 and on the third press "c" for cleared. Now leave the profile settings for Win7. Use now an empty profile to create the WinXP profile. Give it the name WinXP, visible in main menu "yes". In linked partitions select for HDA on the first position HDA3, press "b" to set the boot flag on the first position. On the second press "c" to set it cleared. On the third press "c" to set it to cleared too. Go to the main menu and press enter on WinXP. You will be not able to boot this partition because XP is not installed currently. If you get the message about invalid boot signature, then press "n" to abort. Now boot the WinXP install CD. You should see now only one partition. Install WinXP there. After the installation completed then start the Plop Boot Manager install CD and use "Rewrite loader". Reboot, the boot manager will tell you about partition changes. Press "y" to import the new values. Now you should be able to boot both systems.



Prev
Linux Boot Managers to the boot sector
Go to the Table of Contents Next
NOD32 Virus report

© 2014 by Elmar Hanlhofer

English / Deutsch | Druckversion
Twitter
twitter

Zurück
Linux Bootmanager in den Bootsektor
Inhaltsverzeichnis Weiter
NOD32 Virusmeldung

Beispiele


1. Video Dualboot Installation Windows XP und Windows XP
2. Windows XP und Windows Vista Dualboot mit versteckten (cleared) Partitionen
3. Dualboot Windows XP und Windows 7

1. Video Dualboot Installation Windows XP und Windows XP


Download demoinstall.wmv (demoinstall.zip). Die Qualität ist nicht die beste, aber man sieht alle Schritte.


2. Windows XP und Windows Vista Dualboot mit versteckten (cleared) Partitionen


Das Ziel ist die Installation von Windows XP auf der ersten Partition und Windows Vista auf der zweiten Partition. Kein Windows soll Zugriff auf die Partition der anderen Windowsinstallation haben. Ausserdem soll es eine dritte Partition geben. Beide Windowsinstallationen haben Zugriff auf diese Partition.

Es gibt viele Möglichkeiten um dieses Ziel zu erreichen. Hier wird eine Variante beschrieben.

Es funktioniert nur mit der MBR Installation des Bootmanagers.

Zusammenfassung

  • Windows XP auf der ersten Partition
  • Windows Vista auf der zweiten Partition
  • Eine dritte Partition auf die jedes Windows Zugriff hat
  • Kein Windows darf auf die Partition des anderen zugreifen dürfen

Grundvoraussetzungen

  • Die Festplatte ist nicht partitioniert
  • Es ist kein Bootmanager installiert

Die Beschreibung des Ablaufes

Windows XP Installation

Zuerst installieren Sie Windows XP. Erstellen Sie mit dem Windows XP Installationsprogramm eine primäre Partition (z.B. 10GB). Installieren Sie Windows XP auf diese Partition.

Partitionen anlegen

Wenn Windows XP fertig installiert wurde, starten Sie die Datenträgerverwaltung im Windows XP. Erstellen Sie eine zweite primäre Partition. Auf diese Partition wird Windows Vista installiert, daher wählen Sie ausreichend Platz. Erstellen Sie auch eine dritte primäre Partition. Auf diese Partition können dann beide Betriebssysteme zugreifen.

Bootmanager Installation

Installieren Sie den Bootmanager von Diskette oder CD auf die Festplatte.

Windows XP Profil konfigurieren

Der Bootmanager hat ein Profil mit dem Namen "os harddisk 1" erstellt. Dieses Profil bootet Windows XP. Weiters wurden die 3 primären Partitionen in den Bootmanager importiert. Die Partitionen heissen HDA1, HDA2 und HDA3.

Gehen Sie zu setup und dann profiles. Wählen Sie os harddisk 1. Geben Sie dem Profil den Namen windows xp mit edit label.

Wählen Sie linked partitions. Drücken Sie in der ersten Zeile von HDA enter und wählen Sie HDA1. In der zweiten Zeile drücken Sie c um die Partition auf cleared zu setzen. Sie können die dritte Zeile auf don't touch setzen oder wählen Sie HDA3. Siehe konfigurieren der Partitionseinträge.

Windows Vista Profil konfigurieren

Verlassen Sie die Windows XP Profilkonfiguration und wählen Sie ein leeres Profil. Setzen Sie den Namen auf windows vista. Setzen Sie show in main menu auf yes. Wählen Sie linked partitions. Drücken Sie in der ersten Zeile c um die Partition auf cleared zu setzen. In der zweiten Zeile drücken Sie b um das boot flag zu setzen. Drücken Sie enter und wählen Sie HDA2. In der dritten Zeile wählen Sie die gleiche Einstellung wie im Windows XP Profil (don't touch oder HDA3).

Window Vista Installation

Gehen Sie zurück ins Hauptmenü. Sie sehen nun windows xp und windows vista. Bewegen Sie den Balken auf windows vista und drücken Sie Enter um die Partitionseinstellungen des Profils auf die Festplatte zu schreiben. Der Bootvorgang wird klarerweise fehlschlagen, da das Vista ja noch nicht installiert wurde. Booten Sie nun die Windows Vista Installations DVD. Im Partitionsfenster des Windows Installationsprogrammes sehen Sie nun am Anfang einen unpartitionieren Bereich (dort ist XP installiert) und 2 primäre Partitionen. Wählen Sie die erste primäre Partition für die Vista Installation. Wenn die Installation beendet ist, kann es sein, das Vista sofort bootet und der Plop Bootmanager übersprungen wird. In diesem Fall verwenden Sie Rewrite loader von der Plop Boot Manager Installations Diskette oder CD.

Nun sollten Sie zwei bootfähige Windowsinstallationen haben, die nichts voneinander wissen. Sie können Daten zwischen beiden Betriebssystemen mit Hilfe der dritten Partition austauschen.

Windows Vista auf der zweiten Festplatte

Im Prinzip ist es sehr ähnlich wie vorher beschrieben. Die zweite Festplatte heisst im Bootmanager HDB. Installieren Sie Vista auf die erste Partition der zweiten Festplatte. Setzen Sie im Vista Profil/Linked Partitions die erste Zeile von HDB auf HDB1 und drücken Sie b. Der Bootmanager setzt das Boot Flag auf 81h. Das sollte für Ihre Installation passen.


3. Dualboot Windows XP und Windows 7


Das ist eine Kurzanleitung für eine komplette Neuinstallation des PCs mit Dualboot von WinXP und Win7. Es spielt keine Rolle ob es 32 oder 64 Bit Versionen sind. Alle Daten auf dem PC werden gelöscht!

Booten Sie die Win7 DVD. Löschen Sie alle Partitionen von der Festplatte. Erstellen Sie eine Partition für Win7. Das Installationsprogramm erstellt 2 Partitionen. Eine ca. 80MB grosse für die Win7 Bootdateien und eine Partition für die Win7 Dateien. Erstellen Sie eine weitere Partition für WinXP. Sie sehen nun 3 Partitionen. Installieren Sie Win7 auf die zweite Partition. Nachdem Win7 fertig installiert wurde, installieren Sie den Plop Boot Manager. Nachdem der Bootmanager installiert und gestartet wurde gehen Sie ins Setup, Profiles und "OS HARDDISK 1". Ändern Sie den Namen auf "Win7". Gehen Sie zu linked partitions und drücken Sie an der ersten Position von HDA Enter und wählen Sie HDA1, bei der Zweiten HDA2 und an der Dritten drücken Sie "c" für cleared. Verlassen Sie das Profil von Win7. Wählen Sie ein leeres Profil um das WinXP Profil zu erstellen. Geben Sie dem Profil den Namen "WinXP", visible in main menu auf "yes" setzen. In linked partitions bei HDA wählen Sie an der ersten Stelle HDA3 aus und drücken Sie "b" um das Bootflag zu setzen. An der zweiten Stelle drücken Sie "c" für cleared. An er dritten Stelle ebenfalls "c" für cleared drücken. Gehen Sie ins Hauptmenü und drücken Sie Enter bei WinXP. WinXP wird natürlich nicht starten weil es noch nicht installiert wurde. Bei der Meldung Invalid Boot Signature drücken Sie "n" um den Bootvorgang abzubrechen. Nun booten Sie die WinXP CD. Sie sollten jetzt nur eine Partition für die Installation sehen. Installieren Sie WinXP dort. Wenn WinXP fertig installiert wurde, starten Sie die Plop Bootmanager Installations CD und verwenden Sie "Rewrite loader". Booten Sie neu und der Bootmanager wird Sie darauf aufmerksam machen das sich HDA3 geändert hat. Importieren Sie die neuen Werte indem Sie "y" (bei deutscher Tastatur "z") drücken. Nun sollten Sie beide Systeme starten können.



Zurück
Linux Bootmanager in den Bootsektor
Inhaltsverzeichnis Weiter
NOD32 Virusmeldung

© 2016 by Elmar Hanlhofer